What Age Do You Need a Fishing License in Michigan? All You Want To Know

What Age Do You Need a Fishing License in Michigan? All You Want To Know

Great Lakes are a draw for Michigan. The area of Lake Michigan is more than 22,000 square miles. The state of Michigan has far more fishing space than is ever required when you factor in the surrounding bodies of water like Lake Superior, Lake Huron, and Lake Erie as well as all the other smaller bodies of water that are located on its land. Michigan has a sizable network of waterways, which delight fishermen.

So, what age do you need a fishing license in Michigan?

If you are 17 years of age or older, you must have a fishing license in order to fish. Young people under the age of 17 are permitted to fish without a license as long as they abide by all applicable laws. Any adult actively helping a minor without a license must possess a fishing license. Please be aware that when pursuing fish, amphibians, crustaceans, or reptiles, a license is necessary.

For more information, continue reading.

Michigan Fishing License Age Requirements

Anyone in Michigan who is 17 years old or older must have a fishing license in order to fish. The age restriction for DNR fishing licenses is not the only aspect of the rule, though. Anyone under the age of 17 may not require a license, but the accompanying adult must.

Even though children do not need a Michigan Department of Natural Resources fishing license, they are able to get one if they desire. Children can purchase a fishing license for $2, whether they are residents or not.

Fishing License Fees

  • Resident Annual: $26
  • Nonresident Annual: $76
  • Senior Annual (residents 65 and over or residents who are legally blind): $11
  • 24-hour (residents or nonresidents): $10
  • 72-hour (residents or nonresidents): $30

Permit Or Tag (unavailable Online Or With Web App)

  • Muskellunge Harvest Tag (license required): free
  • Sturgeon Fishing Permit and harvest tag (license required): free

Combo Hunt/Fish License

  • Hunt/Fish (resident): $76
  • Hunt/Fish (Nonresident) : $266

*Items come with a $1 add-on fee. The funds’ earnings will be used to spread the word to the public about the advantages of Michigan’s hunting, fishing, and trapping activities. and the impact of these activities on the conservation, preservation and management of the state’s natural resources in accordance with statute.*

*Veterans with a 100% disability or full-time active military service are exempt from paying license fees for hunting and fishing licenses that are not obtained through a lottery.

What Age Do You Need a Fishing License in Michigan All You Want To Know
What Age Do You Need a Fishing License in Michigan? All You Want To Know

Where to Buy a Michigan Fishing License?

A basic fishing license can be purchased from a nearby retailer by Michigan residents. If you’re wondering “where do I get a fishing license in Bay City, Michigan” for example, you can head to the hunting Pay for your license at the DNR counter in the Meijer near you.

Look at the retailer location map and you’ll see it’s completely COVERED in areas where products might be bought. There are numerous opportunities and places throughout Michigan where you can get the licenses you require. There’s no need to search for a “Michigan fishing license near me.” They’re everywhere!

Here are a few specific fishing license MI locations:

  • At Great Lakes Ace, Big Moe’s Bait and Tackle, or Detroit Metro, you can purchase a Detroit fishing license.
  • In Grand Rapids, Michigan, you can purchase a fishing license at Dick’s Sporting Goods, Dunhams, and Village MotorSports.
  • Residents of Traverse City can purchase the required fishing license at Gill-Roy’s Hardware, Cherry Bend Grocery, and Ace Hardware.

How to Get a Michigan Fishing License Online

If you’re wondering where to purchase a Michigan fishing license online, look at the Michigan e license fishing and hunting website. Directly from the website, you can order licenses, permits, and applications. You can also look up drawing results for particular hunts.

To make it simpler to access your information in the future, you can create an account. Alternatively, you can enter your ID and birthdate for a one-time visit. Follow the prompts and make the selection for the type of license you want, and pay the accompanying fees by debit or credit card.

How Much is a Michigan Fishing License?

A Michigan fishing license can range widely in price. Your final cost depends on whether you want to purchase a Michigan hunt/fish combo license or a fishing license only.

Non-Resident Vs. Resident Fees

Non-residents in Michigan must pay a higher fee for their fishing license than those who live there. It costs more for you to visit Michigan to fish in its waters because you can obtain a fishing license in your home state.

As a Michigan resident, you’ll be charged the following fee:

Fishing license only$26
Combination of Michigan hunting and fishing license$76

People 65 and older must pay the senior fishing license fee in Michigan. Fishing-only tickets cost $11 or $43 for the combination option. A Michigan fishing license costs $11 for blind people.

As a non-resident of Michigan, you’ll pay:

Fishing license only$76
Combination of Michigan hunting and fishing license$266

Michigan Lost Fishing License Fee

Many people worry they’ll have to pay for a new fishing license if they lose theirs. You might be able to print a copy of the license you already had if you have an account set up online. If you need to purchase a brand-new copy from the store, there may occasionally be a lower fee.

Who is Eligible for a Free Fishing License in Michigan?

You don’t have to pay money to obtain a DNR Michigan fishing license. Some people can obtain theirs for free if they meet the following requirements:

  1. You’re an active-duty soldier who is currently performing your job.
  2. You are a veteran who is totally disabled.
  3. During this weekend, fishing is free. Families can obtain a temporary fishing license in Michigan for free on two weekends each year, usually in February and June. It’s only valid for those two days.

How Long is a Michigan DNR Fishing License Good For?

Each year, a new license must be purchased. From March 1 of one year to March 31 of the next, it remains in effect. If you first purchase a lifetime sportsperson license, you can then purchase a lifetime fishing license in Michigan.

Final Words

Please LEAVE A COMMENT if you have any queries.

We appreciate your reading.